South Australia

The Festival State aka The Wine State



South Australia (abbreviated as SA) is a state in the southern central part of Australia. It covers some of the most arid parts of the continent. With a total land area of 983,482 square kilometres (379,725 sq mi), it is the fourth largest of Australia’s states and territories.


South Australia shares borders with all of the other mainland states, and with the Northern Teritory.  To the south by the Great Australian Bight and the Indian Ocean.  With over 1.6 million people, the state comprises less than 8% of the Australian population. The majority of its people reside in the state capital, Adelaide.  Most of the remainder are settled in fertile areas along the south-eastern coast and River Murray.  The state’s colonial origins are unique in Australia as a freely settled, planned British province, rather than as a convict settlement.  Official settlement began on 28 December 1836, when the colony was proclaimed at the Old Gum Tree by Governor John Hindmarsh.

imageThe current state flag of South Australia is based on the defaced British Blue Ensign with the state badge located in the fly.  The badge is a gold disc featuring a piping shrike imagewith its wings outstretched. The badge is believed to have been originally designed by Robert Craig, a teacher at the School of Arts in Adelaide, and officially gazetted on 14 January 1904.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s